I was feeling pretty good on Sunday. Recovered well from the Hanging Rock Excursion, went on a beautiful bike ride at sunset, and was looking forward to a short run in the morning followed by Circuit Training w/ the girlz. I didn't get to bed until wayyy too late, but I thought it was just because I had slept in and taken a long nap that day and wasn't that tired. But around 3 or 4 in the morning, I woke up feeling... AWFUL.
I had to stay in bed pretty much all day on Monday. Oh, except for the fact that I had to drive to Durham Tech and wait in a 2 hour line to pay for classes. Yeah. That really sucked.
I assumed that with so much sleep, I'd turn the corner and hopefully it'd only be a 24-hour setback. So on Tuesday morning, when I still felt like I was hit by a semi when I woke up, I decided to power through it and hit the stadium anyway. Sure, I felt like I was going to puke the whole time, but I figured it was because I was running the stadium. You're supposed to feel like you're going to puke, right?
Not so much.
I had to leave work by noon and return to The Bed. Let me just say, it sucks being sick by yourself. I wanted my mommy.
But, this morning I woke up feeling weak, but muuuch better than yesterday. So I met up with the group at Wilson and just went out for a slow and depleted hour. Topped the morning off with coffee and a tomater sandwich at Squonk's house. I was able to keep that down. Woohoo! (I think I'll be totally happy if I never see Saltine Crackers again.)
So, I'm already a bit behind in mileage this week, but I'm going to try not to push it. Thoughts of doing two-a-days later in the week are creeping in, but I'm going to try to tame that part and just chillax. It won't be the end of the world. I got a 16er on the schedule for Saturday, and that's the most important run, anyway.
So, beware of the August Flu Bug! I heard something is going around in these parts. Break out the Swine Flu Masks, everyone!
Or just wash your hands and drink OJ and get 9 hours of sleep every night. That's my goal for now!
Peace out, y'alls.

No comments:
Post a Comment